Lowrider 2 sliding sideways

I’ve got a small problem with my Lowrider, nothing that is not fixable, but i wonder if more people have problems with this.

On passes in pine wood with a 1/8" 2 flute bit at a feedrate of 1200 and a cutting depth of 3mm. The entire machine has the tendency to slide on the X axis (wheels sliding sideways). There is not much room, but on engravings 1 to 2mm is quite disturbing.

Anybody having the same problems? And are there any at hand solutions / best practices to prevent this?

I had this problem. I cut some 3/4" by 3/4" strips and nailed them in next to the wheels to keep the wheels on track. Others have used a roundover bit in a router to cut grooves for the wheels to drive it.

I’m not an expert but 20mm/sec and 3mm DOC might be a little aggressive.

1 Like

@Frosty, thanks. The rest of the machine has no issues with this. It is cutting nice and clean chips. I’ve ran 1600mm/s with a 6mm endmill before as well (for roughing) and it just works. My drivers are still underpowered for now (1/1.2A whilst the steppers can handle 2.5A continuously), motorically, router wise and bit wise it does not seem to an be issue, nice chips and no burning @ 30000rpm.

Mechanically it might be an issue on the Lowrider of course, I’m looking for its limits. So far it has surprised me. However this is an issue i ran in to, which i think is fixable, maybe indeed like @jeffeb3 suggests with rails, or spring loaded side bearings.

1 Like

There was a remix for the LR 1 with a beaeing that rode on the side. I don’t know about using springs here. I also can build a strip of wood straighter than the edge of my table :). If you constrain it, it will then follow the constraint, and it could make it less square or add more error, so it needs to be straight/square.