24"x42" J Tech Laser/Router build in GA

Hello everyone!

I guess I should start out with a bit about myself.

My name is Tim, I’m a guy in Georgia with a background in CNC machining, CAD, programming (in progress computer science major). I feel like I’ve done a little bit of everything but in reality I’m a complete noob compared to some of you.

I’d been wanting to get into CNC machining since like 2011 and looked at converting a mini-mill, but I didn’t have anywhere to put it and realized even though I could afford to do the conversion I’d end up spending just as much money on tooling and other.

Sooo, fast forward to college, and I got involved with the FSAE team. I ended up basically teaching myself to CAD, CAM, and machine in 6 months and made the vast majority of the parts for the entire car myself. Including all of the composite body molds on a 5 axis C.R. Onsrud with a work area of like, 8’x8’x5’. Drool. (The process looked very similar to this [not my video])

Took some time off from school and got a full time job doing CAD/mechanical design/CNC work (thanks for the experience, FSAE!). About a year in, I decided I missed machining so I started to look into routers. Of course, I was looking at Shapeoko 3/XCarve. In fact, I bought one–a Shapeoko 3 XXL (with the DWP611). It’s sitting in the box, unopened, because I’ve been really busy at work and it’s too cold in my shop (propane heater coming this week). Somehow ended up here and decided I couldn’t pass up the idea of a $300 standalone machine.