5 minutes to drill one 12mm deep hole?

Hi,

I am starting to look into drilling holes in my waste board to attach clamps. I am experimenting with Inkscape and Estlcam to try to figure out optimal settings for drilling all of the 9mm holes with 2mm counterbore around them for threaded inserts.

I drew up two circles in Inkscape, each with line width 0.1mm. The outer circle has 11mm diameter and the inner is 9mm. My bit is 1/8" in diameter.

I import into Estlcam and set up two helical drills (outer 2mm deep and inner 12mm deep). The preview shows that it will take around 5 minutes to drill one hole. I am really new to this field, but it seems like an awfully long time… is this reasonable? If not, can you help me tweak my settings to speed this up?

Here is a screenshot of the Estlcam preview.

Why not draw it up as two pockets and see how the time differs?

I’ve done very little drilling with Estlcam but have yet to find an explanation for why when drilling a small hole in each corner of a rectangle, the transit speed between holes slows waaaaaaay doen.

No. That looks wrong. Like the stepover is way too low. I would guess 30s or so.

Just threw one together with a quarter inch hole, 1/8th endmill, 12 seconds. Feeds and speeds, 2mm Z step, 20mm/s X/Y feed, 8mm/s Z feed, 85% stepover.

2 Likes

Thanks guys for your tips! I am starting to figure out how this works! I switched to pockets instead of helical drilling and I also used the suggested settings and it goes much faster.

I’ve started trying multiple holes now. Is there any secret to easily select all of the holes of each type and apply the same settings to them? Right now I am choosing them one at a time and entering the hole type and depth. I think I might make errors doing it this way.

When I did mine, I put the zero in the center of the hole, and just used that one gcode for all my holes. Drill the hole, move over to the next spot, rezero, hit go, etc.