Beginning 1st build

I have been pondering building a CNC setup for a couple years, and have even gathered several parts.

I’m gathering parts and materials for my first MPCNC build. I already have a 3d printer, a ramps 1.4 setup, a Chinese 52mm spindle with ER-11 collet, and a few bits. I had to order a power supply for the spindle, the bearings, and a few other bits, and a couple rolls of PLA(I chose red and black).

I do have a basic knowledge of Arduino, Fusion 360, and CNC in general, but no practical experience other than 6 months 3d printing with pla.

I have been scouring this forum and all other sources I can find for build threads, accessories, suggestions, etc. Just today I learned that in the US, and even here in the hills of Upper East Tennessee, 3/4" conduit is 23.5 mm, so I now know which size parts to print.

So, now you know where I’m coming from. I will be asking a bunch of questions, some may reflect my tender noobness, or a definite lack of proper research, so please be gentle with me. I usually ask questions when I can’t find THE definitive answer or don’t comprehend what I’ve already found or read.

Looking forward to the journey… I don’t know where it will take me, but I plan to enjoy the ride! I don’t even know what I will make with the MPCNC!

Oh, btw, is this the proper forum for noobs like me to ask their questions?

1 Like

And for my second question, what is the recommended first build size for someone just learning this system? I realize this system can be scaled up or down by just changing the length of the conduit pieces. think to start, I’d want to plot drawings, or something similarly simple while learning, but would like to easily move to simple sign making or engraving. I really don’t have a feel for how big to make the first iteration. What do you suggest?

1 Like