Bit shopping

Where does everyone get their bits from? I’m specifically curious about longer bits. Since I’m just starting out, I bought a cheap set of bits off Amazon. They have been fine so far. I also got a set of v bits from amazon. The problem with both sets (really the v bits) is how short they are. I was barely able to clear the bottom on the plate that holds the router with these bits. I would like to get some pretty long bits to be able to get through some maybe 1.5-2 inch stock. Is this asking too much of the lowrider and just bits in general? Either way, what are the typical material cut through limits and how long of a bit can I get?

Hmmm. I wonder how far up your router is sitting. I ended up scaling the little cone shaped piece to quash it a little, and I got it so the collet dipped just a little below the plate. That way the entire endmill was “available” if I needed.

@turbomacncheese are you talking about 3d printed dust collection piece? I thought about it doing something with that, as it seems to be holding the router much higher than it needs to be.

Yeah. The piece with the holes for the Leds. I don’t know exactly how it’s supposed to fit, and I just figured I screwed something up.

1.5-2" is a lot to ask. Especially for a 1/8" bit. The “standard” bit Ryan sells can’t cut 3/4".

A very long stick out is going to mean more flex, and the LR is going to have to be higher, which also reduces rigidity. So make sure you are getting the collet as low as you can. Even 1/4" is a big enough difference to think about.

If you haven’t already, you should get a few from the v1 shop, just to have a reference of what a good bit cuts like. Then you will at least know which cheap bits are not worth it.

1 Like

25 posts were split to a new topic: Site, Forum, Ryan - opinions and concerns

Uhhhhh… I’m gonna skip all the forum complaints because I didn’t and don’t have any issues so I can’t really understand what’s going on.