Bit usage?

I built my MPCNC back in February-ish. I’ve cut quite a bit of MDF since then, and my 1/8" end mill burned up the last time I cut stuff. I was hearing some chatter starting in the cuts leading up to the burn out.

How often are ya’ll burning up bits? Was this because my IPM was too high, or does this happen more often on the smaller bits we use in the DW660’s ?

I’m starting to wish I kept a better log of how many hours I had on the bit. I think I’ll start a spreadsheet and start tracking cut times.

MDF is tricky, too slow or to high of rpms can burn it as well. There is a ton binders in MDF that tend to burn easy. Your bit might be okay and just covered in residue not truly burnt. I am not an expert on these things, I still have some of my very first bits. Usually I will chip them by hitting a screw or otherwise break them.

I have a single flute bit I have been using to cut LowRider pars out of 1/4" MDF and I think I push it pretty hard, it still seems to be going strong after 20 hours or so of cut time (really pleased with this I figured 5-10 max). I run that at full depth plus a litte so 9mm DOC, at a 3 speed setting on the 611, and 9mm/s I think. So, sorry I don’t have an answer but I am watching to see if some others do.

What are you feeds,speeds, DOC?