Can`t cut through wood

Hello,

I am new to the CNC world and already a bit lost.

So I built a MPCNC with an Arduino UNO + CNC Shield (stepper voltage: 0,68-0,72)

500W Spindle (12k rpm) and NEMA 17 Motor

d=1,5mm x/y speed: 500mm/min, z=200mm/min, z+ = 0.2mm

Engraving works fine so far. But as soon as I try to cut trough the wood (12mm Multiplex/plywood) the spindle starts rumbeling after some time and I have to stop the machine. It seems that the spindle gets shifted (and than tries to cut too much material at once).

I was able to cut a small rectangle, but with a heart it always fails.

I already tried:

Tightening the grub screws + Belts

Tightening the screws from the core (was a little loose)

Increasing the stepper voltage (before it was 0,63, but seems that 0,68-0,72 doesn`t help)

Maybe someone has an idea?

Thank you already!

Do you’re trying to cut 1.5mm depth at 500mm/min?

That’s pretty slow. How big is your machine? What endmills are you using?

I cut 3.25mm depth at 1800mm/min. That works very well with the 1/8" single flutes that Ryan sells in the V1 shop.

By the stepper voltage, I assume you mean the vRef on the stepper drivers. That actually should be setting current. For most drivers, 0.7V is close to 1.4A. How warm do your motors get?

12mm depth of cut with a 1.5mm bit? Unless you are stepping down on that, it is way too much for the bit to handle on plywood. If your model can afford the extra radius, maybe use a larger bit. Alternatively you can rough with a larger bit, do a tool change and finish any corners with a smaller bit.

wait… d=diameter? or d=depth?