Cant find Motherboard and router

Hello, my name is KWADWO. Im from Ghana. I have little to I no knowledge on this subject. I only have a diode laser engraver. I howerver feel i have watched and read enough on this site and youtube to plunge into this project. I have bought and secured most of the parts except the mother board and the router. I have found 2 motherboards in my budget range but i do not know if they would work well for me without unnecessary tweaking.

1. The Bigtreetech gtr v 1.0
  2. Bigtreetech skr v1.4

I am not able to get the skr v1.2 for some reason. I also cant get the dewalt nor the Makita router. What i have is a trimmer from a brand called Ingco. How do i make it fit on the plate.

1 Like

I also have Bigtreetech Octopus

I know some people have used the SKR 1.4. Some peoplewere looking at the Octopus, but I don’t know where that ended up. I think that the V1CNC_Skr1p3_* configurations work for this, but since I don’t use this board, I am not 100% sure on that. This can use either the TMC2209 drivers or the DRV8825 drivers.

A RAMPS board or a clone of it should be easily available and inexpensive (I used an MKS Gen L v1.0 with DRV8825 drivers at first, until I replaced it with a Duet Wifi.)

It will be significantly easier to get up and running with a board that you can get direct support for in the marlinbuilder releases page. Even the community supported boards should be pretty good.

1 Like

Mounting your router may be possible using one of the many available mounts already available. For example the makita fits many 65mm mounts, as do 65mm vfd spindles fit on makita mounts.

It is also possible your router has a shape that may actually need a custom mount. If this is the case, I may be able to draw you something in cad that you could print out to mount your router. I would need accurate dimensions though, preferably isometric drawings if available.