Challenges

As a hobbyist I find that I want to use my CNC more but the projects in the hopper are all big time sucks and I never have the shop time for a 4 hour cut.

I think I and a lot of other weekend warrior types would benefit from some structured challenges that allow us to hone our skills and compare notes. Kind of like the speed test you guys ran a few months ago. I think all of us learned a lot from that even @Ryan about what the limits of the MPCNC truly were.

I propose that we create a monthly challenge to create something that can be designed and cut relatively quickly but has some kind of twist to take us out of our comfort zone a bit. It would need to have a deadline to motivate people to get it done. Something like:

Make a coaster using at least 2 bits
or
create a box utilizing 2 different joints

What do you guys think?

12 Likes

Iā€™m in.

Lets try to expand on this a bit.

-Do we make a new thread for each ā€œchallengeā€, or is there a better way to show our participation? Instagram or twitter hashtags could work as well.

-Should there be a prize of some sort (Fancy forum title for a month, sticker pack, discount, free endmill with an order)? If so I think it would need to be random, so each participation post (picture, hashtag, whatever) gets you an entry.

I just did my first finger joints, they went perfect and I wished I did so sooner. I think you are on to something. Get pushed out of your comfort zone a bit and learn as a group. Learning at the same time could be really beneficial, correct CAD offsets, CAM strategies, work holdingā€¦

6 Likes

This is a really great idea. I think a forum title is awesome, anything more is icing.

Maybe a new forum subsection with a new thread per project for explanation, ideas, help, troubleshooting, and a separate thread for results only with a link to the first post for reference?

2 Likes

Iā€™ll leave the forum organization details up to you.