China Spindle Wiring.

Hello. I have just built a MPCNC and it is working like a charm! I have only been pen plotting thus far, but now I want to get into the heavier stuff, milling. I got this China spindle from a website, and I’d like to use it. The problem is that I have no experience at all with wiring, and this thing came without instructions. I was wondering if anyone here could guide me on what to solder where? Thanks! Pics:

I hope you have a certain tolerance for risk… No datasheet and people helping on the Internet will end up with a non-zero failure rate :).

Here are some guesses I’d make:

a) There are only two connectors on the motor, right? I’m guessing that you wire one to one of the V+ and one to one of the V-, and if it’s wrong, then the motor will rotate in the opposite direction. Are there any stickers on the motor that would indicate that 48V is right and 7.5A is enough? Are there any stickers that indicate which is + and which is -?

b) You wire your house A/C into the three jacks on the right of the power supply. The circle with the lines in it is ground, the N is Neutral and the L is Live. There’s probably a switch somewhere to change between 110VAC and 230VAC. Look for that before you try to turn it on. I would also either wire in a switch, or connect it to a power strip with a switch, so you could turn it off if something isn’t right. Unplugging things under pressure can be tricky.

c) You shouldn’t do any soldering, and you should get some sort of beefy cables, somewhere in the 16-12 gauge. On the power supply side, you can just screw the wires down. On the motor side, I have a collection of these “spade” style crimp connectors, and I would find one that fit. If I didn’t have those, I would go into an AutoZone or O’Reilly auto parts and find one that fits. Something like these (but the right size):