Complete Novice bought a used Lowrider2

Hi Guys

I am a total novice who bought a used lowrider 2 about 2 years ago and I am only getting ready to start using it now, but have no idea how to start, tried auto home but get a homing failed message, and when I try homing each axis separately when it comes to the end of its travel it keeps trying move even though its only banging against the brackets
is there an idiots guide available feel it would have been much easier if I had built it all from scratch myself
Any help or guidance is appreciated

Chalky1601

Could be because your LR doesn’t have endstops, most LR2 don’t have it
Do not worry about it, manualy home your machine at the bottom left, verify the gantry is in contact with the stop blocks, keep the position and power on your controller.
Motors will be engaged and your machine will be homed at X 0 Y 0.

is there any way I can add endstops to the original board and then reflash new firmware or would I have to change the board bought with endstops

The answer to those questions are all: “it depends”. A few photos of your existing hardware would help identify what you have, how it is currently wired and what it would take to change.

As mentioned further up endstops are not strictly necessary on a LowRider or an MPCNC so you can certainly get along without them (and many here do).

1 Like

Adding endstops isn’t too difficult.

Also most LowRiders were wired in series. Look at your control board, if there are 5 motor wires plugged in there, or 3. (Most were set up for 3.) This is fine, but doesn’t make use of the biggest advantage to the endstops, which is making sure that everything is square. IMO, homing is less useful on a CNC machine. (I say that, but my LR2 had endstops, as does my Primo, and the beta LR3.)