Considering/planning first build - lots of questions

Been obsessing over the MPCNC ever since I first saw the plans a few days ago. I wish I could remember where I saw it mentioned, but as soon as I saw it I wanted to build it!

My background: I have zero experience with CNCs. I’ve been 3D printing almost daily for over a year with several materials successfully. I live within city limits and do not have a “workshop” per-se, just an office with a work area, but I do have a dry basement with a corner where I keep my tools (belt saw, dremel, etc. minor stuff). Noise is a concern, which is the only thing holding me back from building.

My MPCNC goals, in order of what I believe would be a natural order of progression:

1. Pen plotter. It's quiet, and I can't draw - so why not let a machine do it for me?
  2. Drag knife for vinyl/paper.
  3. Foam cutter for DTFB/Flite Test planes. This means my usable build area needs to be at least 20"x30".
  4. Laser cutter/engraver (because frickin' lasers). This is the ultimate goal right now, since I imagine it would be quiet but would still achieve 80% of what I would want to do.
  5. maybe, perhaps, someday add a spindle for routing/milling. This would complete that 20%, but the noise/dust is probably a game stopper unless I had a workshop or soundproofed enclosure.
I already have some EMT conduit laying around, and I plan on printing the parts in PETG (0.4mm nozzle, 0.24mm layers, 3 outlines, 30-40% infill - I printed a foot with these settings and that part is TOUGH).

So my questions:

1. How feasible is it to build it at the size I need and be able to swap tools? I know it is best to "purpose build", and I believe my ultimate goal is a decent laser cutter for foam and thin wood (think model plane plans), so is the progression above acceptable?