Control/breakout boards in parallel on same drivers and steppers

Hi all, please don’t criticise too much my intention; I just want to figure which system fits best to my needs.
So my intention is to put the systems side-by side in the same machine: Marlin, GRBL, EMC - of course not working simultaneously.
What are the connection requirements of various boards to same drivers/steppers in order not to damage or influence each other?
I have a 5 axis cnc breakout board with parallel connection to PC, a GRBL v3 shield and a Micromake printer board with 5 stepper channels.
Please make your explanations as basic as possible as I am only a beginner.

Never done it so I don’t know but I’m thinking you’d use a ramps. You would flash the arduino back and forth between Marlin and grbl to test those. Then you would remove the arduino entirely and run jumpers from the ramps shield to a breakout board connected to emc.

There is a recent thread on this forum about running ramps from linuxcnc, search “cheap linuxcnc solution” or something along those lines.

Rigging up some kind of in place quick switching system seems like a lot of work for just some temporary testing.

I’m interested to know a little more about what and why…?

1 Like

I’m kind of curious what you hope to see. I think most of the obvious differences are in the interface.

It is hard to tell mood from text, so I’ll just tell you, I am genuinely interested and this is not the least bit trying to dismiss your idea.

I am working on that same thing. What I plan on doing is building full controllers where I only have to plug in the steppers to the different control boxes. I have to make a series harness that I can use since the boards I have don’t have five drivers. First is LinuxCNC with a breakout board and the CNCshield. It’s all ready to go except that connection, which I might get to tonight since services are cancelled because of snow.