Controller boards

Hello, I’m new to CNC. I’m looking to get into CNC and build my own. However, I don’t know enough to understand what the differences are between the SKR PRO1.2, 5X 2209 DRIVERS, TFT35 E3 V3 -FLASHED- controller board and the Rambo controller Board. It seems like the SKR comes with a screen but the Rambo doesn’t and the Rambo has stop sensors and wiring but not the SKR board? If someone could explain what the differences are that would be great. I apologize ahead of time if some of the terminology is wrong.

They are both Marlin based boards.

The SKR Pro has a more advanced processor, 32 bit processor verses the RAMBo 8 bit processor, but both are ok for the work.

They will both take the same programs and you will end up with identical results for your CNC.

The SKR Pro has more advanced drivers than the RAMBo (the parts that control the actual motors) and the better processor means that it can do some calculations more smoothly, like moving in a circular pattern. It also has some ability to connect to wifi for file management, which I really like.

The RAMBo has been around a while, and has a reputation for being rock solid, but I don’t own one myself.

Either one will do the job, i would personally recommend the SKR Pro, but mainly because I own 2 of them (though neither is currently connected to a CNC.)

I think you would be happy with either board. The Rambo board is more turnkey and may be tougher. I’ve seen on the forum people who make wiring mistakes that would kill many boards, and the Rambo comes unscathed. I would recommend the $15 purchase of a display for the board. In addition to interfacing with Marlin, the display allows running g-code from an SD card.