Cutting board

Nothing fancy, but used the mpcnc to face a cutting board I’m working on. The plan is to burn an image in the middle with my laser.

I also think I’m going to face the second side cutting in only one direction. I’m still getting a little flex in the Z axis that caused the bit to cut deeper in one direction vs the other.

9 Likes

Are you concerned about the cross-grain vs. long grain expansion with humidity? A wax or oil coating will help but I have no experience so I am paranoid about whether it would be enough.

1 Like

Well… Ignorance was bliss. Now I probably won’t sleep tonight reading about it.

Honestly, this is my first board, so I’m kinda learning as I go. The original plan was to do solid maple without any of the other wood, but I ran out of stock before getting the size I wanted. The other wood was added as an after thought.

1 Like

The one use case I intended for my MPCNC was to make a big cutting board. I finally got the surfacing bit, but haven’t had time to glue up the board. Maybe later this summer.

It’s a nice looking board.

If it is a problem, it would be the maple growing, and the walnut not. Then the joint between them would crack, or the board would cup.

It is a real problem, but I also know it is frequently way oversold. I have no idea if it will really be a problem in your case. It will take the better part of a year to find out.

Nice looking cutting board!
Also I’m glad that I’m not the only one with PINK parts on my MPCNC!

My original build was nicknamed Miami Vice by some of the forum members at the time.

I’m surfacing with a 1/8" bit. I have a much larger bit, but didn’t feel like swapping it out. You should see less “stair step” effect with a larger bit, but any canter in the Z axis will end up with grooves. 60 grit in a random orbital fixed mine.

I will add that right now it’s cutting the second side and cutting in only one direction is leaving a much better surface finish.

1 Like