Cutting fabrics and leather

Hi technical friends :slight_smile:

I have a small upholstery company in the Netherlands. Unfortunately, an original cutting machine was out of my budget, so I started building myself. Thanks for the design and the clear explanation on this site.

I’m building the lowrider to cut fabric and leather. Does anyone have an idea how best to do this? The lowrider itself is almost finished.

I hope that I have put this post in the right place.

Thx

You could try to make a mount for one of the circle fabric cutters. I would try to mount it in some type of bearing so it can rotate as it cuts. Not sure how accurate it would be on corners.

Thank you for your idea.

I was thinking of a laser, there are loose laser modules on the market. I do not know if they are strong enough. What is your idea of this. I have no experience with it

It will cut some fabrics, others will just catch fire, cutting leather with a laser isn’t fun. You also need a fairly powerful laser to cut leather, something like a 40 watt co2 laser.

Would it be possible to build a 40w co2 laser on the lorider? and where do you buy something like this when you have no experience with it? Because then I will probably use mirrors or fiber glass wire.

I have also seen at the official cutting machines that there is a rotatable knife, that I think with a stepper motor makes the turns. I understand the x y z as, but I do not know how to turn a knife on presies in the corners. Then I think it’s better to have the knife lifted by means of pneumatics. Would there be an open-air softwere?