Cutting PVC pipe

Hello,
I am finally starting my lowrider build and am super exited. I have a small business and am looking to use the lowrider to speed up some production (hopefully).
I am brand new to cnc cutting, but am anxious to learn. One of my products involves drilling multiple holes down the side of a 4’ pvc pipe (sch 40, OD=2"). I was hoping to create a jig to hold multiple pipes inside the lowrider’s cutting area and have it drill my holes instead of me doing it through a drill press (slow and not completely accurate process). I’m hoping I can get some basic questions answered.

1. Will the machine be able to drill all the way through the 2" pipe? or will I need to do one side then flip the pipe to get the other?
  2. What bit would be recommended? The holes are currently drilled with 21/64th bit. Can I use a typical drill bit for simple holes?
  3. What bit would be recommended if I wanted to make the holes larger and oval in shape?

Thanks ahead of time and excuse my ignorance on the subject.

• Joe
1 Like

Might take some trial and error with the drill bit. These things spin at 16k + which is kinda fast for big drill bits. Endmills are generally used(single flute would likely be nice), and you can probably get pretty aggressive on cutting. They work well for ovals, too, and you would want a mill smaller than the hole.
Imo the hard part would be getting the jig set up. Maybe drill some locating pins in the table, locate the jig stock to it, then use the cnc cut some channels to lay the pipe in. Could be as simple as a few boards that the pipes would lay across, or one big sheet. The channels wouldn’t have to be deep. Then you know everything lines up straight, and you can model the pvc holes from there.
Pretty sure you can find a mill long enough to go 2 inches through, but it might cost a little more.

No expert here, but here is what I would do.

1. figure out a hold down jig to drill out one side with 1/8 inch end mill.