Dewalt DCW604NT cordless router/ controller board choice

Hi all,

First post here, hello to all.

I’m new to CNC routers but not to woodworking/making/3D printing.

I am currenly printing a lowrider 3 and have a Dewalt DCW604NT which is the 18v cordless version of the D26203. Rather than buying a new router is it possible to run a battery operated router in this setup?

In regards to the controller board I have 2 anycubic motherboards, 1 8bit new from a I3 mega and a new 32bit vyper control board. would either of these work to run the lowrider?

thanks in advance.

1 Like

Possible? Yes. But you will likely find that the need to swap batteries… disturbing to your calm. Especially if you end up with any long-running jobs. You’ll have to either get good at pausing the job to switch batteries, or breaking the job up into battery-long runs. I think it was the MM channel that built a LR2, and used a cordless router for a while. If you’re into it, it also makes paranoia difficult, as there’s no way to tie an e-stop into the mains power for your router.

Better brains will be along to hopefully give a real answer, but the reality is, if you can flash the board with Marlin or grbl, and it supports 3 or 5 drivers (5 separate drivers are needed for auto-squaring during the homing sequence). When scavenging from printers, those could be x, y, z, and extruder drivers. If it’s not one of the “officially” supported boards, it’s going to take some (brain) sweat equity to get the firmware working for your board (if it’s possible). Of course, there are plenty of helpful and curious folk around here who will help you as much as they can, so don’t be too afraid to try.

And welcome to the fun house! :candle: :goat: :candle: (Apparently, I got put in charge of initiations…)

2 Likes