Differences between Primo and old version

Hi,

I’m interested in building my own MPCNC and saw that a new version (primo) was released. Since there are a lot of designs regarding the old version I would like to know more about what changed. The post I read only said every part was remade. And since I have no experience myself I wanted to ask here.

I would like to know more details about this, specifically

• There are a lot of custom designs for improvements on the old one. What improvements were made on the primo, making these custom parts redundant ? (e.g. I have seen improved belt tensioners for the older model, so maybe something like this was already added to the new one)
  • With all the changes, which (kind of) custom parts for the old model might/should also be usable with the primo. (e.g. the x/y steppers have visibly new positions, but what about something like tool mounts)

Regards

Thorsten

1 Like

I view the Primo as an evolution not a revolution with many smaller changes. The cost difference between building the older Burly vs. the Primo is minimal. As for things addressed, the Primo does have an adjustable belt tightening system and mounting holes for end stops are included. The primo is generally stiffer, there is more ability to make adjustments during the build process, and it uses wider belts.

Generally parts from the Burly and Primo don’t mix. And even when they can mix, you lose some of the benefits. Mounts are a semi-exception. Ryan kept the mounting holes on the tubing the same, so it is possible to use the Burly mounting plate and use any Burly mount. Note that Ryan changed from using a Burly-style mounting plate to reduce the distance between the mount and the core. This means that the router is less cantilevered, so it is better to use a Primo-style mount if you can.