Dw660 Edge Finder

Im planning a build of the MPCNC using the Dewalt DW660 (I already have one). Just wrapping my head around the function of the machine, what does homing look like? What about workoffsets, or tool offsets? Im planning on doing the Rambo board with the LCD screen.

Also im guessing it spins too fast to use an edge finder, so are we just touching off the part with paper?

(PS I am a newish cnc machinist for my job, this is a hobby I thought that would be an interesting crossover.)

Kris,

Welcome to the forum!

First question: Homing is used to "square the machine. If you’re using switches to do it, when you select “Home” from the menu, the system will move the gantry to the Y stops and then the core (router) to the X stop. When each of the axis stops are reached, the steppers will stop, then back up and move more slowly to the stop to set the ) point. But, you don’t need to do that with switches. Just move the gantry to the hard stops, plus the router to the x=0 point and turn on the power. The system will just that point as the origin for X,Y.

Offsets are done by driving the machine to the point you want to start the CNC machining, and selecting the menu item to zero the values. The Z height is done (with the router off) by the paper method you mention, or by using the Z-plate the Ryan sells. The latter method is supported in the firmware.

I hope that is close to how it works with the LR3, I’m still in the process of building mine.

I’m sure that if I’m really off with my explanation, someone will show up shortly to correct me.

Mike B.

1 Like

Sounds good! Thanks for the info!

Heres my daily driver at work.