Edmonton, AB frozen north LR2 amateur build

First off thanks to Ryan for providing such a cool design and the continued support here in the forums. It’s a definite selling point for a newcomer to the forum and cnc’ing in general.

I’m a complete beginner in nearly all the aspects of this project and the surrounding areas of knowledge required. Many months ago now I stumbled on the V1 Engineering offerings and have been enamoured with the possibilities and relatively low entry point $ wise for such a machine. I quickly scoured the internet about this “3d printing” device and a few days later I was printing pieces on my Ender-3. I false started on the MPCNC and after a few dozen hours into that printing job I bailed and jumped onto the LR2 never looking back. I’ve printed all the parts now, have the 1” ss tube, and am going down the rabbit hole. I’ll definitely have questions before this is done but hopefully with all the great guides they won’t be too numerous.

My box 'o goodies from V1 arrived yesterday, it was in the mail almost before the email confirmation was done, and at my place up in Canada a few days later.

I enjoyed putting all the bits together last night, and was happy to realize all those hours of printing weren’t in vain as everything fit really well together and was just a perfect friction fit on all those dozens of bolts. I was a little leery about printed parts shrinking and not fitting but I can say following the printed parts guidelines on my ender-3 the parts fit great scaled at 100% out of pla.

[img]https://i.imgur.com/Yb4hjbSl.jpg[/img]

I was also lucky enough to link up with a local fellow who’s willing to help me out with the flat parts. He’s got access to a big industrial cnc at work where they do a bunch of cutting from acrylic so I think I’m getting some acrylic flat parts from their scraps. I’m hopeful they’ll be more than sufficient to at least get me started if they’re not good enough to be a permanent part.