Error:Heating failed, system stopped! Heater_ID: 0

Hi,
This is my first attempt at setting up the extruder on my MPCNC.
I bought all stuff from here and follow the best I can the instructions provided.
I even check and adjust the VREF voltage. The only thing I did not do was to flash the firmware since it was mention in the doc that it was already modify to use an extruder.

The first attempt seems to go pretty well as I saw the extruder temperature raising up to 205 and stabilize around there.
The MPCNC the start to move around and it seems to do it according to the shape of the test IE part.
The only problem, there was no filament extruded. I notice that I did not push the filament far enough in the extruder.
So I cancel the print job and push down the spring thing on the extruder and the filament went much deeper. I tough I was in business then.
But When I restart the job, I saw the status at the top of the manual control screen saying “Heating Extuder” and after a couple of seconds a message appear in the log
15:24:19.100 : Error:Heating failed, system stopped! Heater_ID: 0
15:24:19.100 : Error:Printer halted. kill() called!

Same thing on the LCD panel with another message saying “Please reset”

I reset everything, unplug and reboot the RAMPS, restart Repetier, even reboot my laptop.
I suspect my wiring is good since it worked the first time but I’m keep getting that Heating Failed error.

Anybody have an idea why?

Heating_failed_log.txt (651 Bytes)

1 Like

Make sure your thermistor is still connected and secure in the hole.

When does that error happen? Can you manually turn on the heater and it will get up to temp? I am not sure what is in that code but I think it might have a heated bed in it as well, I don’t remeber that could be the problem. If you can heat it manually it is just a gcode issue.