Estlcam driving ramps

hi,

i am confused about marlin and estlcam. I can generate a marlin gcode file and send it to my mpcnc with pronterface. it seems i can also connect the Mpcnc directly to eastlcam. However that warns me about possible damage etc. Which way is it meant to be used?

thanks, and apologies if it is obvious, I am a real newbie in this space.

Dave

Estlcam can only connect to estlcam firmware. It can also flash the arduino with the estlcam firmware. It can’t undo that, and then you won’t be able to use pronterface/octoprint/lcd after that.

If it can’t restore the original firmware what is this button for Jeff?

Fact is it can restore the original firmware, at least it claims it can. I must admit it didn’t work for me ages ago when I tried it, but that is obviously meant to be the function of that button.

So David, most people on this site only use EstlCam to generate the gcode into a file, they then use a different CAM program to send that file to the CNC. EstlCam has the ability to control the 328p processor in your RAMPS/Arduino directly but it has to reprogram your Arduino in order to do so. EstlCam has two different pinouts for the Arduino also which allows you to use either a CNCshield/Uno OR any 328p board that is specifically built for use with EstlCam… like the ones from Arduinoclub.
If you decide to go down the ‘using EstlCam as the CAM software’ route carefully check the pinouts that EstlCam give you are correct for your RAMPS board (look under Arduino Mega in CNC Controller Settings).
If EstlCam has re-programmed your Mega you can simply re-flash it with whatever flavour of Marlin (or GRBL) that you like…it’s no biggie!

EDIT… Ahh…maybe EstlCam can’t restore Marlin, only GRBL…is that what you meant Jeff?