Estlcam - holes missing in 3D milling ...

Hi all,

I have an issue with a model in Estlcam which I hope one of you may help clarify … I would appreciate this :wink:

I am new to CNC milling, however, as I am very interested in learning to use a CNC I recently bought a CNC (WorkBee) with the software EstlCam to control everything. Having spent the better part of a week assembling the WorkBee - and gaining some initial familiarity with Estlcam - I yesterday did my first “real” CNC milling.

It worked out reasonably well yet for some reason the holes in the model I was milling wasn’t milled (the attachment shows a small part of the model and settings for generating the CNC program) …

I later realized that the end mill I used was larger than the hole so there would be a - possible - explanation for this …

However, today I have simulated the model again in Estlcam (generating a CNC program) with a 1.5mm end mill instead but it still doesn’t look as if the holes are included (the two last screendumps in the attachment) …

So I wonder if I am doing something wrong here … And if so, then what … ??

I would much appreciate if someone here may help clarify this :wink:

Cheers & thanks,

Jesper

estlcam.pdf (1.88 MB)

It probably won’t ever cut those holes like that. You’re 3d milling an stl, which is more for decorative stuff. To actually have it drill down, you need to start from a cad(DXF) drawing of the part you’re milling. Here is what I’m talking about. https://www.v1engineering.com/estlcam-2-5d-routing-intermediate/

Agreed.

If the part is really round and fancy and needs to be 3D milled (looks like a rounded handle half), you can then do a second operation with a DXF to mill/pocket/drill the holes. Small straight holes do get missed for some reason, in tutorial Barry linked It missed the screw hole in that as well.

Hi both - & thank you very much for your feedback!