EstlCAM How to avoid cutting into parts?

Hi all, I am new to EstlCAM and having a hard time figuring this issue out. I want to create a pocket with multiple islands in it, but some of the parts are quite close to each other.

I want to create the islands while avoiding cutting into individual parts because of the machining path of the other parts. As an example I’m trying to create a pocket around two “bubbled” words (each word an island). I first make each word a part then create the island pocket around it using hole on a shape encompassing both words. For the most part it works, but an example of the two parts eating into each other is circled in the image below:

Is there a step or setting I’m missing that will tell the tool not to cut into other parts?

I have encountered this before and I believe it is a bug in Estlcam. I don’t know of an easy workaround.

A difficult workaround is to modify the artwork by dilating and eroding (also called closing or opening) so the narrow section is not present in the artwork to begin with.

I’m not sure if this is a small-ish thing that @christian-knuell can fix given a test case, or if it is deeper.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply, it saves me a lot of time trouble shooting for an option that may not exist. I decided to test out using one of my V tools and the carving option to clean out around the islands. Will be slower, but if it work I’ll take it. Since I’ll be infilling around the islands with white resin, the base of the pockets doesn’t need a particularly nice finish.

You’re not alone. I’ve run into this multiple times. I either switch to a small diameter bit or cheat and make an inset in inkscape to create smaller islands that won’t cut outside the lines. Then finish the full size with a smaller bit. This happens a lot when making coasters with small details.

Is it still a problem in the gcode preview?

Hi yeah, I did preview the print and it was showing the path cutting into the islands:

1 Like