Feed rates and depth of cut

Is there a list of feedrates and depth of cut that MPCNC users have found to be suitable for our machines?

I found a few online for various CNC machines, but they are all across the board from 200 mm/min to 2000 mm/min and 0.6 mm DOC to half bit diameter DOC for soft wood. I’m new to milling and cutting but long familiar with 3D printing, so I’m struggling at finding reasonable starting points.

My typical materials are soft wood and plywood, but I am interested in doing some simple cuts in aluminum plate and acrylic.

I’m assuming that the spindle will affect it. I’m using a Harbor freight trim router, which I assume to be somewhere between a Dremel and Dewalt Palm router in power.

I’m guessing that there are others wondering the same thing. And I’m sure a few of you who know what you are doing.

Most of the videos out there list what setting they are using, all of mine do. That will give you a ballpark.

Every machine will be different, different size spindle, how the build went how tall it is, how long the bit is, how big the bit is. Start slow, plywood is cheap make some test cuts in high density foam. Ply wood is rough on bits, I think it has something to do with the glue. So when you find a bit you like get a 5 or 10 pack and save a ton of money, I recommend drillman1 on ebay.

My biggest suggestion is get your material as close to the gantry as possible, rigidity will double each time you half the distance to the gantry. Do not cut aluminum until how have lots of wood cuts under your belt. Most machines are either built big for wood or very small for metal.

Most people are making there machines very tall yet cutting flat material all the way at the deck. When I cut aluminum I stack wood under it to get it as high as possible. and I am very happy with the cut

1 Like