Filling tubes - a test

Update: 2nd Oct 2020. I am going to perform a new test sometime this week. Please help me make that test better.

Original post:
As I am about to demonstrate, I am not an engineer - I am a degree-holding Materials Scientist by training and an IT professional by career. Try to not judge me too harshly.

Anyway, I convinced myself - from a very quick search on the internet and turning up a few research papers - that filling up tubes would improve stiffness and vibration dampening. Obviously I needed to test this cheaply with materials that I had at hand.

I cut a plastic water pipe in half - giving me 2 nearly identical pipes that could be easily bent. I filled one of them with PU foam, from a spray can. If there was to be any stiffening of the filled tube, it would be easily detectable. The sort of thing that I might be able to measure by eye.

Here’s the thing. There is no detectable difference in stiffness. None. Of course, this is blindingly obvious to a mechanical engineer (stop sniggering in the back, you lot). All of the strength of a pipe is in the skin of the tube (moment of area, I believe, is the relevant property). When I imagined that stiffness would increase I was thinking about I beams.

On the vibration dampening, again measuring by feel, I feel like that the filling helps. Now, I could measure this accurately but is vibration of the supporting pipes actually a problem with any of the current designs?

Jack

2 Likes

Did you do something measurable, like hang it between two chairs and put a weight in the middle, while measuring the deflection?

My bias concurs, but that is not the scientific way.

I could have and that was the original plan but honestly these things are so flimsy that they bend under their own weight. The 700mm lengths sag when held at one end. If the filling was going to make any kind of difference, It would need to keep the pipes straight - a significant change. I can tell you that it doesn’t.