First time with raw wood...

… and other innuendos to make people laugh …

Anyone following my other posts know that I finally acquired a planer. I started a new project over the weekend and decided I’d try my hand and finishing my own lumber. I bought a piece of padauk that was 8/4 x 8.34" x 13’ long. I only need about 6’ of it, but the price was right.

This post is going to be pretty detailed. I really hope someone new to using rough lumber can learn from at least one of my many, many, mistakes. In the end, I ended up with a really nice sanded product.

A few notes about the project

• I'm building a floating desk top for the kids. It will be 32"x24"
  • It's the first time I'm using raw lumber
  • It's the single most expensive board I've ever bought (so happy I didn't end up with just a toothpick)
  • I'm doing a lot of processes I've never done before
  • I have to build fixtures for the shop before I can even start on the actual project
  • My wife dictated most of the design elements
I started the project Friday night with cutting the board into workable lengths and then ripping the 8/4 lumber in half, giving me two 1" think rough-sawn boards... This was not an easy task. The first mistake I made was I didn't support the board properly when cutting the lengths. My circular saw kept binding at the end of the cut. It wasn't until the third cut that I realized what I was doing wrong. I simply put a piece of scrap under the board on each side of the cut. This allowed the cut piece to slightly fall away from the main board.