Grbl endstop noise

Hello everybody,

I am really new to CNC (1 week) and im trying to upgrade my machine.
My CNC is a full sheet long, 8 x 4 feets with nema 23 motors. Arduino Uno, CNC Shield V3.0

I have been reading a lot about noise in end limit switches and I am making progress with my problems but I still cannot make it work with long cabling.

Please help!!

I am using GRBL 1.1h, today I updated it from 1.1f

I have connected switches N.C.
GRBL Config is as follows:
$5=1
$20=1
$21=1
$22=1
$23=3
$24=25
$25=150
$26=250
$27=12
$32=1

When I run homing with the switches installed on the CNC the limit switches doesn’t stop the motors, even the alarm is triggered OK I can see it triggered on the UGS Platform. The motors dont stop.

I read [Tom Traband] posts about using only one end switch (hard limit) and doing the rest with soft limits,(By the way I believe it is the best regards of using x+,x-,y+, y- and z+ and z-)

I removed the switches from the CNC, after that I use short cables (12 inches) and connected the switches to the CNC Shield (V3.0) directly and homing is working OK manually pressing the switches by hand. Si i don`t think is GRBL problem and at least the switches are OK.

I am almost sure that I have a kind of noise when using long cables.

Why do you think is a good or even the best solution, to use shielded cables? Or trying something with filters?

Is the solution is with shielded cables, 18AWG will be ok?
Or if it is with filters what kind of them do you recommend?

Thank you very much for your help.
Kind regards.

I found the ? command invaluable when troubleshooting my endstop noise issue. cnc.js did not provide endstop indicators, but by repeatedly sending the ? command from the console I could see the various endstops logically triggerring when they were not being physically triggered. This will help you verify whether your issue is noise or something else.