Having trouble with SKR Pro V1.2 set up for CNC

Hello!

I have been making things in Tinkercad and Easel for a while now (I work in a school where we have an X-carve and Makerbots) and I wanted to be able to carve at home, so my friend and I stumbled upon the MPCNC Primo kit and thought we would give it a try. Everything has been super easy, the printing of the parts, assembling the machine, flashing the board, etc., but now I cannot seem to land on a relatively simple way to create and carve my designs.

I purchased the SKR Pro v1.2 board along with the LCD screen and have no trouble loading up Gcode from a SD card, but what happens next seems to vary from day to day.

Here are the machine specs:
-Primo build kit
-SKR Pro v1.2
-Bigtree tft 35 V3.0 LCD screen
-Marlin 2.0

Just to catch you up here is what I have tried so far:
-load .dxf file into Estlcam
-create a tool path in Estlcam
-save file as a CNC program
-copy file to SD card
-select “print from media” on LCD screen
-select the gcode file and hit “print”
-at first it created the shape! (I had taped a marker to the router) but then I noticed when I went to actually cut, the cut depth settings were very off
-go back into Estlcam and play around, but can’t figure out how to change the cutting depth, or any other cut settings for that matter
-tried to use Repetier, but that software seemed so complicated and very geared towards a 3D printer
-tried to use Onshape, but I am so confused of what that software even is (haha)
-tried a number of programs to make my own .dxf file, but they all seemed so complex
-tried exporting a design from Easel and manually editing the gcode using a tutorial online, but the machine just moved around randomly and “finished” printing in a few seconds

I know Estlcam isn’t compatible with my SKR board, but the one time the machine seemed to work (a little bit) was when I created a tool path on a .dxf file and saved the CNC program onto the SD card as a .gcode from there.