Having troubles with aluminum

So I have made a couple of attempts at milling aluminum and I have to admit that I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing. Attached is a photo of my attempt at making a J-head mounting plate for a 3d printer. The pocket milling passes all seem to go very well, but cutting the perimeter is where it all goes wrong.

Settings:

1/8" Carbide 2-Flute end mill (this one was brand new)
Roughly 25,000 RPM (setting 4 on my Dewalt DWP-611)
0.3mm depth of cut
200mm/min plunge
300mm/min x/y feed rate
25% Step-over

I don’t think that any of the axes are missing steps, but I am curious about the thin layer of aluminum that has developed around the perimeter. Is this a result of over-heating?
Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

One more time, with a smaller image file.

I’m just a rookie at this, but I have had some success in my first few attempts at cutting aluminum. Maybe someone with a bit more experience can chime in if I’m not right in my assumptions. Your settings look the same as I have used and I used the same type bit. My RPM were roughly 13,000 RPM, about half the speed you used. I would suggest slow your RPMs down. You should be getting chips, or little curls of aluminum coming off the bit if your speed right. It almost looks like your melting the aluminum.

On the outside cuts, I have manually slowed down the feed rate with the slider in Repetier if it looked like it needed it. I also have an adjustable speed control that my router plugs into, so it’s easy to tweak the RPM while it’s cutting.

Have you tried the trochoidal settings in Estlcam? To find them, you need to turn them on in the Tool List window under View.

Dave

Here are some formulas machinist use
SFM= surface feet per minute. This depends on the type of cutter diameter of tool and type of material. I run between 150 and 200 on aluminum.
IPM= inches per minute feed rate
SFM=0.262 x dia of cutter x rpm
RPM= 3.82 x sfm / dia of cutter