Help with the firmware on RAMPS 1.4

I’m new at this. What firmware should I install on MPCNC with RAMPS 1.4 - give me a link or a file.

Marlin Firmware is probably what you’re looking for. There is a variant for the dual endstop version, and one without.

It is configured for the 12864 full graphic controller, but you don’t need that. It will take a bit of configuration to use the 2004 RepRap Discount controller, but that’s not hard.

1 Like

Thanks for the answer. I am a nimble and very confused. Tell me this firmware will fit - found on the forum. MPCNC_Ramps_T8_16T_LCD_32step

Yes that’s the one you want.

Quoted from another thread:

Depending on your specific set-up (What stepper drivers do you have? Is your leadscrew a T8? Are you using lcd? Which one?), after you open Marlin.ino in Arduino you may need to change some things in the Configuration.h.

Also add the U8glib library - this is the library needed for graphics displays (The “how-to” is here: Marlin Firmware - V1 Engineering Documentation).

I can’t help with the specifics of editing the Configuration.h in your case because I’m an Arduino n00b and still working it out myself. It seems you can just go through the Configuration.h and change things to suit your setup. There are lots of comments and explanations of what each setting is for.

2 Likes

That is pretty old now. I did make a V1CNC_Ramps_Dual firmware and the new MarlinBuilder releases has some Ramps variants.

2 Likes

Thanks Jeff. Which one would you recommend for a LR2 with a 2560 and RAMPS 1.6?

I don’t have a ramps 1.6, but I assume it is the same as ramps, from a software standpoint?

https://github.com/V1EngineeringInc/MarlinBuilder/releases/download/505/V1CNC_Rambo_DualLR-2.0.6.1-src.zip