How to change MPCNC over to 3d Printer?

Hi everyone,

Late last week i put in my order for the mpcnc kit. I bought the electronics kit as well as the printed parts. Ill be using 1" stainless tube and a import 500w spindle. I went with the MPCNC for the same reason im sure a lot of other people have. I love that its a great router/milling machine but can be used for all of the other various tasks on a as needed basis. I am completely new to the diy CNC world. I am not new to computers and im not new to design and fabrication.I have done a lot of machine work on manual mills and lathes. The cnc side is something i have wanted to dive into for a long time. 

My question is pertaining to the process of swapping the mpcnc over to a 3d printer when i need to. I am seeing all of the mods and cool things for the mpcnc on thingverse that can be printed. I also need a mount for my import spindle, why not get a 3d print head and print the mount first thing? The problem is, i know very little about a 3d printer. 

I realize that there is an extruder and a hot end, and there is spools of plastic material. I get that a hot bed is nice to have to keep the part nice and use various plastics. I guess i really just need clarification on how i get from a to z with the 3d printer swap over on the MPCNC. Do i need to do something with the firmware, or since the extruder/hotend is sold here is it ready to simply bolt on and plug in? I can obviously buy the extruder and mount from here. This sentence confuses me a bit in the description of the extruder "Firmware edits will be needed to adjust the E steps, thermistor type to #5, and care needs to be taken to set your extruder driver correctly." I see some information about drivers and wiring the extruder/hot end, but again its not super clear to me.