How to tool change with Fusion CAM and Marlin

Hi,

I’m pretty new to this and will finish building my MPCNC within the next 4 weeks or so. I already printed the Crown test and it worked great(without squaring or fixing the CNC to anything, just for fun :-)). Later, I want to use something like Repetier to control the CNC, but I have also connected a LCD with encoder to the Ramps Board.

I modeled something in Fusion 360 and I really want to use its CAM to generate G-Code. In my current setup I will have to do at least two tool changes. I used this post processor (https://www.v1engineering.com/forum/topic/fusion-360/page/6/#post-22917) to generate the G-Code, but it uses only one tool for everything. How can I add in something like an automatic pause, and then carry on when hitting ‘ok’ or ‘start’ on the screen. I’m sure I am not the first one having this problem but I couldn’t find a good answer on how to solve this problem.

I hope you can help me out.

Thanks, Max

CAM> Setup > Manual NC >Force Tool Change

Hopefully your post processor is set up to handle the tool change properly, but you’ll want to verify it in the gcode. I’ve been using the one guffy posted, and works ok.

1 Like

You might want to try the post processor linked at the bottom of the milling basics page. If I am not mistaken Guffy has made it full featured.

It’s not the elegant solution you’re looking for, but you can post out individual or multiple operations by highlighting them in the setup and hitting post process. You can also set repetier host to keep the steppers energized upon job completion so hopefully you don’t move anything while changing tools.