Image to Gcode Converter

@Ryan I have been testing this program the Viktor made and posted on Thingiverse. I have some test results.

@viktorglekler I really like the program. I love the clean interface, the idea of keeping it simple but functional. I also like the way you made it so it doesn’t have to do as many unnecessary moves. Creative solution that took time and effort to implement I am sure. As a former programmer I commend you for a job well done.

Now if I may say the bad news. It doesn’t work very well for an MPCNC. The MPCNC has a lot of weight to move around. So it needs to take extra time and distance to get up to speed. Smaller laser engraver machines can accelerate faster so I think this program can work very well for them.

In some of my testing I used this horse image as an example. In my first attempt to use this program I set the speed to 600mm/min (or 10mm/s). I have tested this speed with my laser previously and I know it is a good speed to use that will produce the most even results. That should make the darkest spots at full power burn a dark brown. In the file created by the app it started with the legs. I saw the laser move directly to the first hoof then go back and forth left to right for a few lines then jump far to the right to start on the next hoof. It went back and forth left to right for a few lines then returned to the first hoof for a few lines. The problem is the machine at full acceleration couldn’t get up to full speed of 600 mm/m. So it was burning much darker than it should have. I let the test run for a while and the larger partial horse was the result. Way too dark.

[attachment file=83954]

It should look closer to this. This was made using a different program on the same machine, same wood material with same power settings. The only difference is speed. My previous burn used a constant speed close to 10 mm/s that passed the entire length of X one layer at a time.