InkScape to EslCAM

I see dozens of posts on this but I can’t seem to find a solution.

I have managed to create the image I want in Inkscape, and I save it in the .dxf format, but when I try to bring it into EslCAM I get an “Empty or Incompatible drawing” error. I tried the “Deep Ungroup” and “Object to Path” in Inkscape but nothing seems to happen. I also tried saving it as a .svg file (and many other things) with no success. I’m stuck!

Where do I go from here? Thanks for your help.

The way I do it in ink scape. Bit trace, single scan. Deleted original image, ungroup, then save as an optimized SVG. I could never get estlcam to recognize inkscapes native SVG or with the original image overlayed. but I also use it for images only

I’m not an inkscape expert, and I haven’t had trouble with estlcam and svgs. But did you import and bitmaps (jpgs, pngs, etc)? If that isn’t it, maybe post the SVG and someone who knows more can see what’s going on.

VetteIS2.svg.zip (1.7 MB)
Maybe it’s the way I created it. I took an SVG file (which will load into EslCam) and combined it with a frame that I designed in CAD as a .dxf -R14 file (which will also load into EslCam). Anyway, I’m attaching the .svg file. If anyone can make it work, it would be greatly appreciated.

PS: I could not figure out how to upload the file. It would upload, but wouldn’t show up in the post. Thus the link to it.

Thanks

1 Like

@flyntm No imagine was attached.

See my edit above. Let me know if that doesn’t work. And Thanks!

Thanks for everyone’s help! I just started over and did the whole design in Inkscape. After I did the “Deep Ungroup” and “Object to Path” in Inkscape, it loaded into EslCam as expected.