Inkscape: Which Font Used

Let’s say you create an SVG in Inkscape using certain fonts. The below screen shot is simple, but it could be much more complicated with multiple font’s. You “Object to Path” the image, save it as a DXF and import it into EstlCAM. Great, fine, all is good.

But months later you re-open the Inkscape document (SVG) to figure out what fonts you used. I cannot figure out how to do this. In the example picture below, the font is Beauty Mountains, but I just know that is what I used. If you click on the object it does not give you what font you used.

I suspect the answer might be you cannot. This is because after you place your text it is no longer a text object per se. Its a path, or an svg element and cannot be reversed engineered.

However, this seems strange to me. If I was a graphic artist using Inksacpe to draw poster using a multitude of fonts, I am not going to document what I used it outside of Inkscape.

I must be missing something.

1 Like

I suspect that too. I wonder if there are best practices that help with this. Like saving a version before converting path or something?

1 Like

The SVG file format accommodates a variety of metadata.

In Inkscape, the metadata can be viewed/edited via the file/document properties menu item.

This will open a window, which contains a tab for Metadata.

This is where you would want to store font or other such data.

2 Likes

There are apps to upload images and it will photo search the font.

What the font comes to mind.

Off to google.

Edit : try this. https://www.myfonts.com/WhatTheFont/?expData=eyJwcmljZSI6MC4wLCJwb3B1bGFyaXR5IjowLjIsIm1faXAiOjAsInByZWRpY3Rpb24iOjEsImZhaXJuZXNzZmFjdG9yIjowfQ==&utm_expid=.EVIhb5J_QZyS_CFjlMuTvg.4&utm_referrer=

1 Like

My wife uses layers. The original font is in the bottom layer. The “convert to path” is in the layer above it. This is in ai, but you could probably do something similar.

Personally, I just do everything in comic sans so I don’t have to remember.