Is higher layer height actually stronger?

Heyo I have been reading the forum for a bit and now also started printing my parts and while experimenting a bit with speeds and height and what not, my printer have been randing still for almost 2 years and I don’t really remember what settings I used to run blabla. Anyway, here at the forum the general mode seems to say that higher layers are stronger than lower, but then I found this video at the tube , can’t seem to post links though??

watch?v=fbSQvJJjw2Q

That shows the opposite, so now I wonder what’s the dealio… is it another kind of strength? Is this video out dated and there is a new one? Basically where does this “higher layers for the win”-mentality come from? Is it just printing times motivating this?

I’m no expert but from my experience prints are more likely to fail off the printer due to delamination. The lower the layer height the more layers needed and the more chances for delamination. So a higher layer height is technically stronger all things being equal.

That being said, I don’t believe any of the printed parts are going to fail in use due to delamination if printed in the orientation intended by the designer. With these parts you are more likely to have a failure due to crushing forces by printing with a weak infill pattern and density percentage.

With a year of operation and a 35% infill pattern (forgot the pattern type, bicubic maybe?) I only had one part failure which was the bridge-like structure that joins the X and Z rails together. That seems to be the area that experiences the most clamping force on my build. Reprinted them at 65% and a .28 layer height and haven’t had a problem since.

Hope that helps!