Is this the right way to look at software choices?

I’m one of those guys who wants to understand the various options and how they fit together so I understand the end-to-end story. Looking at the various posts here and elsewhere, here’s what I came up with. What did I get wrong? What am I missing? Obviously, each box could have 10 options, but I’m trying to keep it to the most common. Is there a “If you’re total noob, pick this set of options”?

If this is useful, I’m happy to clean it up and post it somewhere for others to learn from it.

1 Like

Have you seen the software workflow doc?

There are also many ways to move from one row to the other. For example, estlcam can generate gcode for grbl and so can easel. Fusion can create gcode for marlin, with the guffy post processor.

There also isn’t a difference between CAM and slice. Some of the items in slice (like Repetier host) belong in the next column to the right.

I love breakdowns like these. Some feedback. You present it as a chart, yet it cannot be used as a chart. If you intended it to be a chart, then you have some major issues. It might better presented as 8 independent columns with a bit of space between each.

Inputs - this short list fails to capture some important distinctions. I’d break it down like this:

• Original ideas
  • 2D files
  • Parameterized 3D models
  • Mesh 3D models
  • Image files for reference
  • Image files for tracing
  • Image files for height maps (grayscale)

CAD Design - vCarve is only one of Vectric products. I sometimes leverage Photoshop to create 3D models from grayscale images.

CAM / Toolpaths - anything I can think of that can create toolpaths has some mechanism, either built-in or through a post processor, that generates g-code. So I don’t think the distinction between creating a tool path and generating g-code is meaningful.