Just about to buy

Hello all. I’m David from Spring, TX. I stumbled on to the MPCNC while searching for a CNC solution. I was just going to pull the trigger on ordering and things started going out of stock. I read about a sticky that would show product availability and updates but couldn’t find it.

So while I wait until things become available, I figured I’d introduce myself and ask a couple of questions.

I’ve been woodworking for a few years and have a CO2 laser. I figured a cnc would allow me to diversify my creations. I’m looking to create a cutting area of 20” x 20” this is my first cnc build but I’m pretty technical. Wood will be my primary medium but I’d like to maybe work with some acrylic and aluminum (nothing big though.)

I saw a build on YouTube where a guy used solid bars for the frame to increase rigidity. Has anyone tried this or know the pros and cons?

I was going to use the Dewalt but is there another option that would be better (even if it’s a bit more.)

That’s all I can think of now but I hope to order soon and get started.

It is a common question, but no. The dewalt 660 is a good balance, and it is more than enough power for what we need, it is rigid, and it is built to take some serious abuse.

That seems overkill to me. I haven’t tried a solid bar, but the tubing is very rigid. If you want to pay a little more and get great rigidity, then go for the 25.4" size, and buy some stainless steel tubing.

For your size build, it will be super strong. Just be careful not to make it too deep . Most bits are less than an inch long anyway. If you need to mill thicker material, then build the bottom so it can drop out and fit larger stock.

1 Like