LinuxCnc - I fell off the rails a bit

Hello All,
I’m kind of new to the this board. Here’s where I’m at on my MPCNC -

1. Parts have been printed and assembled.
  2. Motors purchased and installed.
  3. Wiring is mostly done back to the main CPU.

What I’m wanting to do is connect/control via LinuxCnc. I’ve got the PC, LinuxCnc, the parallel port. Reading the boards I’ve purchased the Mesa Electronics 7i43H board and 2 daughter boards.

Where I’m stuck at is how to setup the boards and wire it all up. Is there someone out there with the steps to configure the 7i43 board and software and then some directions or a diagram on wiring it all to the motors? It looks like you a re supposed to load some software onto the 7i43 - then reset some switches and then wire it in. But the directions are very unclear.

From what I’ve read once I get the 7i43 setup and connected to the LinuxCnc it will provide a wiring map of what pins to what motor?

I’d be grateful to anyone who can provide some clarity.

Thanks,
Wilbert Best

That is new hardware to me, lets hope someone has tried it out and can chime in.

I have been reading up on LinuxCNC and wondering if I might use it some day. I watched My Heap’s video series and it really explains all the steps to get it going, but it still remains somewhat generic. He doesn’t examine the driver cards much, other that talking about the different ones available.

I’d be curious about what you come up with. For the time being, I’m ok with CNCjs for driving the machine and using the Archim board. It is great to have everything all set up and easy to connect to the controller with a USB cable to my raspberry pi. However, I am just not satisfied with CNCjs. There are things that I don’t need and things that don’t work as I want and I haven’t taken the time to fork it and tweak the UI to my liking. I’m still learning the ins and out.