Logging for data analytics

I’m a programmer/data scientist/hacker/cybersecurity expert/electronics engineering degree holder but not user and that’s a bad combo for thinking out of the box. I’ve been thinking about making a data logging and data analytics module for the CNCs. Ideally ran on Linux PC or a pi.

My idea is to integrate sensors into the machine. For example thermistors on all the motors, rpm sensor on the spindles, voltage/amperage sensors on the power supply and motor drivers. Maybe more sensors on the boards. Anyway my idea is to sensor all the things and log everything.

Convert and log all this data, and input it into a SIEM or similar. I have most of my experience in splunk/elastic search and jupyter notebook but I’m not sure they would be appropriate for this use case. Perhaps an IoT tool I don’t know about but could research.

Anyway the idea is to use this tool to monitor our workflows, create more effective and efficient cuts, get an idea on the health of our machines, early warning for malfunction or even automated emergency stops.

Just an idea I thought I’d throw out there for discussion. I know there’s a few programmers and such on this board who could maybe provide some insight.

1 Like

You’ve already signed up for the Trans-Human Trials, haven’t you?
Ex-ter-mi-nate

1 Like

Was I not supposed to?

I was going to ask what the process was… I’m getting tired of the current parts wearing out.

The most interesting would be to put encoders on the steppers I think, and log the actual position of the steppers. I think that the difference between the actual and desired position can be a very good estimate for the load on the end mill, which is a very important variable if you want to make very accurate parts.