Lowrider Build - Kentucky Edition

Howdy guys!

I ordered my kit and parts last night, so my CNC journey is officially underway. I’m super ecited to get started with this. I’ve got lots of CAD experience, some woodworking experience, but zero CAM or CNC experience. So this should be fun!

Like many of you, I’ll be posting my progress here.

I’d like to start out asking for some feedback. I’ve got a super simple table design I put together in Sketchup, and I’d like to know if you think it has any obvious flaws. The legs are 36 inch long 4x4s, the top frame is 2x3’s on 12" centers, and the table top, which I was planning to use as my spoil board, is just 3/4" MDF board. Or should I have a separate spoil board on top of the MDF? And if so, do I then need to recess the MDF to be flush with the 2x3 side panels?

Table dimensions are 44" x 75" for a 3’ x 5’ cutting area (per the calculator).

Here’s a pic:

Looks fine as designed.

If your wheels ride on top of the mdf, then that’s fine. If you want the wheels to ride on the 2x3s, then any distance down from the top will be taken from your max z height. Making the mdf go all the way to the edge will mean you get max Z height.

The rails and the top need to be total 4" or less. With 2.5"+0.75", you’ve got enough space there. If you make them from 2x4s, you probably won’t.

Spend some time finding the clearest dryest boards and spend some time doing what you can to make the surface under the mdf flattish. If you’re good at woodworking, you might consider buying 2x12s and ripping the boards you want out of them. 2x12s can only be made from the center of the tree, so their grain usually is straighter.

Honestly though, don’t stress too much (unless you want to). This table you’ve drawn can be built quick and replaced quick. It will do just fine for many months if not years of fun. After that, you’ll be an expert.

2 Likes

Whoa…good tidbit.

1 Like