Lowrider Z-Probe

Good day,

I would need your help with the Lowrider and the Endstops

As a board I use the Arduino Mega 2560 with a Ramps 1.4 with the dual-Firmware

The endstops dual X and dual Z and simple Y_min are connected and work wonderfully.

Is there a solution to use Y_max as Z_probe? What do I have to change the firmware so I succeed.

Mfg Steve

I’ve wanted to know this myself. I have never tried it. I’m not sure it’s possible.

Thanks for your reply

But, if you do not know that :slight_smile:

I am a beginner :stuck_out_tongue:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HqCZmVg4dT0&fbclid=IwAR2hepexqoLoWLsTW7lJG7AwsVk6qcWjcjlYgoOdOneWj5G-_khKts1ytdU

I think this guy has the same board.

I haven’t seen it done. We’ve talked about it once or twice before. That does not mean it’s not possible. Maybe since you are a beginner, you’ll more easily find the way to get it done.

When I’ve used probes in 3D printing, it’s always been the same as the zmin endstop. I’m not sure how you would send a gcode to probe instead of home. You can’t do (for example): G28 -Z or G28 +Z. So is there some G38 command to probe, and somehow use that for your Z=0? I’m pretty sure there is a way to make the endstops different than the probe, but I would have to do some reading to find out what that would give you.

Please, don’t be discouraged. You probably won’t break anything for trying. If you get it, you’ll be a hero (for at least a few of us).

1 Like

Have been trying for some time, but unfortunately I can not find a solution.

I have not tried it but this is what I would try first:

Within Configuration.h:

Make sure this is enabled:
#define USE_YMAX_PLUG

Make sure this is disabled:
//#define Z_MIN_PROBE_USES_Z_MIN_ENDSTOP_PIN

Define assign the probe to use the Y_MAX_PIN:
#define Z_MIN_PROBE_PIN Y_MAX_PIN

Configure probe for normally open (true) or normally closed (false) according to your preference:
#define Z_MIN_PROBE_ENDSTOP_INVERTING true