LowRider2 - Dual Y and Z, Sensorless Homing

This is my new LowRider2 build. I am testing sensorless homing which I have working on all 3 axis. The Z axis needs a little lubricant, you can hear it squeaking in the vid.

BigTreeTech SKR 1.3 32-bit main board
BigTreeTech TFT35 Touch Screen
TMC2209 Drivers - UART Mode
Marlin 2.0 Firmware

The only wiring on the board are to the motors, TFT, and power.

Here is a link to the changes I made to Marlin 2.0:

5 Likes

Excellent work! I have a couple of questions as I am about to dive into the sensorless homing rabbit hole. I’m still new at all this so sorry if my questions seem silly.

I see your Z homes/levels to the top. Is that because if you home to Z Min, it could lift the Y plate off the runners and not get an accurate reading? How do you set Z0 once you’ve completed this cycle? I was thinking about using two blocks exactly the same height on the table surface at either end of the X axis to level out the Z and then use a touch probe to set Z0. Any reason why that wouldn’t work?

I tried to configure it but just can’t seem to get the TFT35 firmware right. It’s filled with a bunch of 3D printer junk that doesn’t apply to CNC. Is your version streamlined and if so, would you mind sharing? Also, for some reason, the Marlin screen works for moving the machine but the touch screen does not. Any thoughts on what I might be missing?

For reference, I am running BTT SKR 1.3, BTT TFT35, TMC2209 UART, and Marlin2.0. I have the machine operating with the Marlin screen and Pronterface as the gcode sender.

Thank you in advance for any help and again, great build!