Lumber vs Plywood - table build

I was at Home Depot pricing out the lumber for my table plans and after looking at the options wondered why I don’t just build it up like a cabinet maker would using 3/4" plywood? If I laminate the ply for the structural bits like the leg sections and the cross pieces under the table top wouldn’t that be a super strong and quite likely cleaner looking build? To make things even better most of the cuts can be done right at HD on their $10,000 panel saw nice and square. I know a few of the guys there and we can make the cuts bang on.

I’m just not a structural engineer so I don’t know what’s stronger - two-by lumber or laminated ply. Although I have my own hunches (ply).

And let’s throw this in the mix while I’m here…I opened up Sketchup to whip up this little doodle and thought “Ugh - I’m going to use Cinema4D instead because I’m so much faster with that software”. While putting the attached together I wondered why I couldn’t use Cinema4D for my 3d needs as far as the MPCNC goes (for milling and the eventual 3d printer capability that’s surely going to follow)? I am a very strong Illustrator user so I’m sure any simple cut-out stuff can be done there. Cinema gives me a myriad of export options including DXF. Is that what I need? I know I’m getting ahead of myself here so forgive me the daydreaming. Lots to learn I know. Ultimately I want to be milling stuff like the Pegasus carve I saw but imagine all the cut-out scraps of 3/4 ply this table setup would give me to practice with! ; )

Yeah that table should work, and look great.

Any software should work. Whatever you know best should be easy to adapt, if it is needed.

The requirements for the MPCNC table are much less than a normal workbench. That design should be very strong.

I used to have some workbench boxes that were basically a 4 piece frame for each side, made from 3/4" ply, 3" wide, joined with pocket screws.