Marlin vs GRBL on 32 bit board 2020

I am in the process of deciding on a CNC system. I am confident in my understanding of the various mechanical systems available for purchase or construction. What I am not so sure of are the software and electronics. Especially since they are intertwined.

I have searched for comparisons between the different systems (GEBL vs Marlin) but haven’t found anything current. This site providing the most relevant information and discussions so far. However the most recent posts that I’ve found were before Marlin was pushed to handle 32 bit.

I am quite familiar with Marlin, Gcode and basic machine control. Since I currently only 3d print I have no experience with any of the mill/router systems. I am also not in a position to to start small and then grow into a larger CNC. I also don’t like to start with outdated electronics with the intention of upgrading.

Due to operator error I replaced the motherboard in my 3d printer well before I intended (I broke the USB connector and it was basically the same price for the SKR v1.3 as a new stock board or repair). I don’t see any point in buying/building a machine based on 8 bit when 32 bit is readily available. I’m hoping that those with experience in both realms can offer some insight especially since the last discussion I found comparing the two control software packages was for 2017.

Marlin supports a lot of boards, and works mostly with 3D printing software. It currently still supports lots of 8-bit boards, so a 32bit board is mostly idle. This isn’t like a faster intel processor. In a microcontroller, they don’t get much improvement with higher speeds. The big exception is when doing trigonometry, but the marlin devs try hard to avoid that (even during arc moves) because there are so many 8bit boards they still have to work well for.