Milling Materials Documentation ideas

Hello again friends.
I have had a thought. The kind of thought that won’t just go away so now I get to share it. I’ll let all of you wrestle with it until it either dies or becomes something real.

I think we need a link in the milling basics to some sort of Milling Materials Documentation. Something that would show like a catalog of materials with pictures, info, pros and cons, where to buy, advice/tips for milling etc… because I still struggle with that kind of info. I remember as a total noob I wanted this info as well.

Where this idea keeps bouncing around is how to do it. A forum thread would be easy but unorganized. Something like a Documentation pages would be better but still difficult to organize all of the many materials. A Google doc might work but would anyone contribute to it. Or is there another website that already does all this that we could just link to. I don’t know.

Sooooo ideas?

2 Likes

I’m afraid I can’t contribute due to an absolute absence of knowledge, but I can confirm that I would greatly appreciate something like that.

While it’s true that you can pretty much find anything you wish on YouTube, that particular medium is a two edged sword, and having to sit through 20 minutes of irrelevant stuff to find that one helpful minute is not efficient, whereas simple written documentation and illustrations can be quickly skimmed or read in depth. Thank you to all who contribute!

That sounds like a good idea. I would really want it to focus on only very solid information and keep it in the docs. Good info is ABS turns into toxic gas if you burn it with a laser. Bad info would be something like, “I cut this at 20mm/s and it went well”. That’s good for the forums, but hard to maintain in the docs.

Maybe we should start with a google doc or a forum post and shoot for a small set of materials. Then convert it to a doc page?

What would the first set of materials be?