Milling test generator : advice needed

i’m doing a little test job generator to test feed and plunge speeds.

as a template i have something like this as a plunge speed test (as now it will imply no speed control)

G90 // absolute
G21 // sorry, metric :stuck_out_tongue:
G1 Z5.000 F500 // safe height, constant
G1 Z-4.000 F{testPlungeSpeed} //i think of -4mm depth as a constant, as i think of it as a quick test.
G0 Z5.000 F500 // safe height again

and this as a feed test

G90
G21
G0 Z5.000 //safe heigth
G0 X-{diameter/2 +startOffset} Y-{diameter*stepover} F2000.0 // start test position at safe heigth
G0 Z-{cutDepth} F500 // cut depth set
G0 X{diameter/2 +cutOffset} F{testFeedSpeed} // the spindle will just go fully in the material
G0 Z5.000 F500 // safe heigth

the problem is, i’m quite ignorant in milling :smiley: i’m a programmer and i’m doing this test generator also to understand better the concepts.

the question is… a test like this make sense? :thinking:

That makes some sense. You will need to make sure you zero your Z first.

The plunge on both of them is just straight down. A lot of times, you will get better results if you ramp down, or peck to drill a hole.

The ramp would be something like

G1 Z-4 X10 F500

So it would go down to Z=-4, but only on a slope to X=10. Or:

G1 Z-2 X5 F500
G1 Z-4 X0 F500

To have a shorter ramp, at the same angle.

I agree with Jeff that a straight down plunge is uncommon. I use Fusion 360, and the default settings are always ramping into the wood in some fashion. Often the bit follows a helix path into the wood. The only time I use a straight down plunge is cutting foam where the speed of the plunge does not matter. I’d probably just punt on the plunge test.