Minnesota Lowrider: Full-sized fun in the Twin Cities - or - How I convinced the wife to let me build a CNC table

I’ve been eyeing the MPCNC for a year or so now, but only recently got my first 3D printer back in March to print PPE and the like. This, of course, led to teaching myself Fusion 360, designing some custom LED light stands and lamps that I could print, and the motivation to begin printing the parts for the Lowrider that I have wanted to build for a while now.

My day job is an IT Systems Engineer, and with the whole Covid thing, I haven’t adjusted well to the forced isolation that my new mandatory working from home role has required of me. I’m on the autism spectrum and am normally pretty introverted, but the isolation has been pretty hard on me. When I started talking to my wife about a CNC, she told me to build it for my mental health, and now here we are.

The parts:
Hardware kit and Flats for the Lowrider v2 from Ryan’s shop
BTT SKR Pro v1.2
TMC 2209 Stepper Sticks
BTT TFT35-E3 V3.0
Home-printed PLA+ (Inland) in True Red with some alternative/upgrade pieces such as the belt tensioners, etc.

I’ll post photos of my table build as I go this weekend. The plan is to lay out just a super basic wood structure for the gantry to run on in order to cut all of the pieces out for the table itself.

All of the hardware arrived today, and it took about six hours to bolt the entire gantry together and get it ready to set on top of the frame I build tomorrow night and Saturday to start dialing things in.

Please forgive the mess in the pictures. Too many pets and the robovac can’t keep up. I also realized by looking at these that I have the upper hose brackets on the wrong ends and need to reverse the covers so the X-axis belt mounts are in the right place.

9 Likes

Awesome! Look forward to seeing it.

Good, we all want pics of your building progress…enjoy it !!!